The Premier League Golden Glove is an award presented to the goalkeeper who has kept the most clean sheets during a single season. It has only officially been running since the 2004-05 season.It’s not an award that bookmakers seem to take bets on during the season but if you check Paddy Power’s football bets prior to a season you’ll find odds on goalkeepers to win the award.

Here are the winners from each of the 12 seasons in its existence:

2004-05 Petr Čech (Chelsea) – 21 clean sheets
Petr Čech managed to keep a staggering 21 clean sheets in his 35 Premier League appearances in what was his and José Mourinho’s debut seasons in England.  Chelsea went on to win their first Premier League, an emphatic 12 points ahead of runners-up Arsenal.  This was only Chelsea’s second top flight title before they would go on to win four more over the next dozen years.

Chelsea only allowed a record low 15 goals throughout the entirety of their title-winning campaign of 2004-05.  Perhaps that’s why the Premier League handed out the inaugural Golden Glove award…

2005-06 Pepe Reina (Liverpool) – 20 clean sheets
Liverpool had a mighty defence under Rafael Benítez a decade ago.  Jamie Carragher was the leader at the back, protecting Pepe Reina.  The Spaniard has played for several successful teams – Barcelona, Bayern Munich and Napoli, but arguably he was at his peak at Anfield.

2006-07 Pepe Reina (Liverpool) – 19 clean sheets
Reina became the first goalkeeper to defend the official award by winning it during its third season.  Once again, Liverpool had a tight defence under Benítez but failed to top the Premier League once again.

2007-08 Pepe Reina (Liverpool) – 18 clean sheets
The Spaniard would keep one clean sheet less than the previous season for a second consecutive season but Pepe Reina would earn a third Golden Glove in a row as Liverpool qualified for Champions League football once again.

2008-09 Edwin van der Sar (Manchester United) – 21 clean sheets
During the 2008-09 Premier League season, Manchester United goalkeeper Edwin van der Sar broke the English top flight record for most consecutive minutes without conceding a single goal.  That run helped him to his sole Golden Glove role, keeping a joint-record 21 clean sheets throughout the campaign.

2009-10 Petr Čech (Chelsea) – 17 clean sheets
Petr Čech’s second Gold Glove award came at the end of the 2009-10 season under manager Carlo Ancelotti whose side would become the first in Premier League history to score more than 100 goals in a single campaign.

2010-11 Joe Hart (Manchester City) – 18 clean sheets
Joe Hart had established himself as Manchester City’s number one the previous season but this was his first campaign where he played more than 26 games (playing all 38) and would end with the Golden Glove.  Manager Roberto Mancini installed a strong defence led by Vincent Kompany at the back.

2011-12 Joe Hart (Manchester City) – 17 clean sheets
The England international won his second successive award the following season as Manchester City won the Premier League in dramatic circumstances.  Joe Hart proved a key part of the team as City would win the Premier League on goal difference; scoring four more and conceding four less than runners-up Manchester United.

2012-13 Joe Hart (Manchester City) – 18 clean sheets
Joe Hart became the second goalkeeper to win three successive Golden Glove awards and did so with 18 clean sheets in 2012-13.  This was the joint-highest number of clean sheets he’s ever kept in a single Premier League season and remains the only Englishman to have won the award.

2013-14 Petr Čech (Chelsea) & Wojciech Szczęsny (Arsenal) – 16 clean sheets
The only time this award has been shared came in 2013-14 when both Chelsea’s Petr Čech and Arsenal’s Wojciech Szczęsny both kept 16 clean sheets, though the Blues goalkeeper player fewer games.

2014-15 Joe Hart (Manchester City) – 14 clean sheets
In what was the weakest season for goalkeepers over the past 13 seasons, 14 clean sheets were enough for Joe Hart to become the first goalkeeper to win the Premier League Golden Glove on four occasions.

2015-16 Petr Čech (Arsenal) – 16 clean sheets
Last season Petr Čech became the first player to have won the award with two different clubs and the second player to have won the award four times.  Despite his efforts, Arsenal fell short of a title challenge to Leicester City, managing to leapfrog rivals Tottenham Hotspur on the final day into second place.